Day 4: Multiplying and Stories

Imani Wilson

2/9/2023

On Thursday 2/9/2023 the students were introduced to multiplication. In the previous weeks they learned how to subtract and add using different strategies. Introducing multiplication was seen as a different way of adding. The students used counters and drew boxes on their desks to help them group the numbers. It was a fun for me because it was a new way of learning how to multiply. The students also identify the parts that make up a story. They have a chance to make their own story maps as well. A few strengths that I had this week were finally knowing all my student’s names. Another was being able to scaffold students in helping them achieve the right answer. A few things that I can work on are pacing myself. I can also work on giving students time to figure out the answer instead of rushing them or calling on the next student.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *